DataCamp license reallocation policy
We allow customers to rotate 20% of their total purchased licenses within a given subscription term (subject to contractual agreements). A license rotation is the act of revoking a license from one member and then giving it to another, effectively using it twice.
For example, if you have purchased 100 Enterprise Learn licenses, you are able to rotate 20 licenses within your subscription term. Should you wish to rotate more than 20 licenses, you would need to purchase additional licenses. We keep track of these rotations by counting the total number of times a license has been used during a subscription term.
Note: Groups with an Unlimited plan are not subject to rotation restrictions.
Allocating a license to a member
When you allocate a license to a member, the license will be associated with this member going forward. Licenses are personal user licenses and belong to a member from the moment it is allocated to them. If that license is at a later point revoked from that member and allocated to another member, this license is used twice and will count twice towards your license usage count.
Revoking a license from a member
When you revoke a license from a member, this person will no longer have access to the content unlocked by your company subscription. You may want to revoke a license from a member because they no longer need to learn on the platform but you wish to keep them in the group. You can also completely remove a member from your group which will also revoke their license but also remove them from your members list completely.
Their access is reduced to the same level as a non-paying member, meaning they won’t have access to any of the content your company subscription unlocks.
Once a license is revoked from a member, you can re-allocate it to another member as long as your total license usage hasn’t exceeded your total allowance (= licenses purchased + 20%)
Removing a member from the group
When a person leaves your organization, you may wish to remove them from the group on DataCamp. Once you remove the member from the group, they will no longer have access to the DataCamp platform using their company DataCamp account. However, their license will still be counted as a used license until the end of your subscription term.
License summary on the Members page
When you log in to the Group Hub and go to the Members page, you will see the license summary at the top of the page. This displays the following information.
The ‘Active’ badge displays how many licenses currently are allocated to members in your group. This is the total number of members currently using a license.
In this example, out of the 100 licenses you purchased, 89 licenses are currently assigned to admins or members. This means that 11 licenses have not yet been allocated.
The ‘Used’ badge displays how many licenses you have used to date, out of the total allowance you have. Your total allowance is calculated as the number of licenses purchased plus the 20% reallocation limit. A license that is allocated to a member and then later revoked still counts as a used license. Therefore, if a 90th member is added and then later removed, 'Active' will show 89/100, and 'Used' will show 90/100. If 'Used' reaches 100/100, then you will need to purchase more licenses in order to add more members.
All members tab vs active licenses count
The ‘All members’ tab (as well as the count shown on the tab) includes all members that are currently part of your group, regardless of whether they are using a license. Keep in mind this includes members for all our products (so if you have DataCamp Workspace licenses, members with these licenses will be listed on this page too) as well as members who have had their license revoked but are still part of your group. Therefore, the count on the ‘All members’ tab is likely to be higher than the number of active licenses/members per product.
Member invites via email
When you invite a member by email, we will “reserve” one license for that invite. We do this to guarantee that anyone who is invited, can actually accept the invite and join your group and isn’t withheld because of no licenses being available. This means that when you invite 1 user, your “used licenses count” goes up by 1 too because of the reservation.
Note: A member or admin can also be invited without an allocated license, which the admin decides when sending an invite. See article: For Business | Add Licenses, Invite Members, and Manage Roles
If the invite is accepted, we transfer that “reserved” license over to the user, meaning the license from that point on becomes associated with that member and becomes a “used license”.
If you withdraw the invite before it is accepted, the “reserved” license is reimbursed, and your “used licenses count” decreases by one.
This is one effective way to free up licenses, always check your outstanding invites and consider withdrawing the ones that are not going to be accepted.
Licenses limit reached
When you have used up all your licenses, you will see a warning message on the Members page in Group hub similar to the warning below. This error indicates that you have used up either your license usage allowance or you have reached the maximum limit of concurrent members with a given license in your group.
It is worth noting that you can reach 2 types of license limits.
Reached the limit for active licenses (concurrent members with license):
If you have purchased 200 licenses, you will only be able to have a max of 200 concurrent members in the group at once with this type of license. Therefore, if you reach this limit, you will no longer be able to allocate a paid license to a new member, regardless of having the extra 20% reallocation allowance.
In this scenario, in order to allocate a license to a new member, you have to revoke an existing member’s license or simply remove them from the group and then re-allocate that license to the new member. Keep in mind that you can only do this a limited number of times!
Reached the limit for total used licenses (exceeded license allowance):
Your total license allowance is the number of licenses purchased plus 20%. For example, if you purchase 200 licenses, your total license allowance is 240. This means that even though you can have a maximum of 200 members in the group at once, you can rotate the 40 extra licenses and give them to new members as long as the total number of members in the group with this type of license amounts to 200 maximum at one time.
If your total number of used licenses (including revoked licenses) exceeds your allowance, you can no longer add new members to your group anymore and you’ll be required to buy extra licenses before you can add more members.
As the members page only shows members that are currently part of the group, we have built a license history page where you can see the historic license allocations you have made. This page will show you a breakdown of your group’s license usage, as well as show you the members that were once part of the group but may no longer be.
The license history page shows a clear breakdown of your license allowance and the usage to date. It will also show you how many licenses you have remaining to allocate.
As you scroll down the license history page, you will see a breakdown of all the license allocations you have made. You will be able to see who you have allocated a license to, when you did so and if applicable, when you revoked the license from someone.
Licenses provisionally allocated to Invites are indicated with an envelope icon, while licenses which are allocated to a member will show a member avatar and the members name. Active licenses (licenses not revoked and currently in use by a member) are highlighted in white.
Please keep in mind that the total number of rows in this table does not equal your total licenses used because email invites, once accepted, transfer their license to the person who accepted the invite. See “Member invites via email” for more information on how Email invites work.
30-day grace period
We offer all customers a 30-day grace period post renewal. In the first 30 days after your renewal, you can allocate and re-allocate as many licenses as you want without limit; the only limitation in place is that you can never have more members with a license than the total number of licenses you purchased.
For example, you renewed your subscription on the 1st of January. You will have 30 days from this date to invite, allocate and reallocate licenses between members as much as you wish, without it counting towards the license usage count. Once the 30 days grace period is over, any allocation will count towards your usage again and the normal rules apply.