Custom tracks allow you to curate a learning path for different audiences in your organization and track the enrollment and completion rates. For many customers, custom tracks map to organizational initiatives (e.g. transitioning a department from SAS to Python), so they can serve as an efficient way to organize and track learning progress around that initiative.
Custom tracks are available to Enterprise plan customers.
Creating a custom track
In order to create a custom track, you need admin permissions in your Enterprise plan organization. Go to your organization’s dashboard and find the Custom Tracks section in the lefthand navigation.
Creating a draft track
There are three states that a track can be in: Draft, Published, and Archived. All tracks start in a Draft state and are only accessible to you and other admins while they are being built. Learners will not be able to see the custom track while it is in a Draft state.
To create a new draft custom track, click Create a Custom Track in the top right-hand corner.
First, you will need to create a title and description for your custom track. You will be able to edit these at any time in the future. You will also need to select a badge color and badge icon for your custom track to make it distinct. Click Create Track when you are ready.
Next, you will need to add content to your draft track. You can start adding courses by searching for them in the Add Courses section on the right-hand side of the screen. You will need to add a minimum of two courses to your custom track before you can publish it.
As you add courses to your custom track, you will see them appear on the screen (see below). You can drag and drop and re-arrange in the order you would like them to be presented to learners. You can also remove courses by hovering over the course and selecting the X on the top right-hand corner.
The Estimated time at the top of your screen will give you an idea of how long it will take, on average, for a learner to complete the custom track you are building.
Tip: To keep learners motivated, make sure your custom track is an ambitious but realistic length. If you have a very long custom track, consider breaking it down into smaller tracks to make it more digestible for your learners.
Draft tracks will remain auto-saved in your organization’s dashboard, so if you are not ready to publish your custom track, you can rest easy knowing your work will remain intact.
Publishing a custom track
When you’re ready, you can publish your custom track by clicking the green Publish button at the top of the page. As a reminder, you will need at least two courses in your track before you can publish it.
Please note that while custom tracks can be edited and/or archived, they can never be fully deleted because they will become part of your learners’ profiles as they complete them. Double check that you are happy with your track and follow the prompts to publish it. Once it’s published, all learners in your organization will be able to enroll in your custom track. You can view the learner-facing custom track page by clicking the linked title of your track.
You can also assign a custom track to a specific audience. Check out our assignment overview for more details.
If you want to make changes to a custom track once it is published, there are a few options.
Editing a published custom track
Editing a custom track is a great option if you would like to make a minor change to an existing custom track without disrupting the learning experience for those who are already enrolled in the track or may have already completed it. Minor changes include replacing a course or adding/removing 1-2 courses. If you would like to make larger changes, we recommend duplicating the track and publishing a new one instead (see below).
By editing a custom track, you will create a new version of the same custom track. The link of the track will remain the same, so if you’ve already shared this link with learners, it will redirect them to the updated content. There are some limitations with regards to being able to tell which users completed which version of the track in reporting, however, which is why this is best suited if you are only looking to make minor changes where this information is not as important.
When you edit a custom track, learners who are actively enrolled in it will be automatically prompted to enroll in the newest version the next time they log in.
To edit a track, select the track from the custom track section and then click Edit Content toward the top of the page. You’ll see a prompt asking you if you want to edit the existing track or duplicate it and create a new one—choose the option that’s right for you based on the guidance above. If you click Edit Content, you will be brought to a page where you can now add or remove courses. You can also rearrange the order of the courses by dragging and dropping them. When you’re done editing your track, click the green Publish Changes button and follow the prompts to confirm.
Duplicating a custom track
Duplicating a custom track allows you to copy the courses from an existing custom track and uses this as the basis for creating a new track. There are multiple use cases for duplicating a custom track, including if you would like to make any major changes to an existing custom track. This is also useful if you would like to create and publish a slightly varied version of an existing track for a different audience in your organization.
If the track you are duplicating is published, duplicating does not automatically archive the original track. If your intention is to replace the custom track, you will need to archive the original as well (see the section on archiving a custom track below).
You can duplicate a draft, published, or archived track by navigating to the track you want to duplicate and clicking the Duplicate button toward the top of the screen. You will be prompted to create a new title and description for the new custom track. Once you confirm, your new track will be created in a draft state.
Archiving a custom track
If you no longer want your custom track to be accessible to new learners, you can archive a custom track. You can archive a custom track by navigating to the track you want to archive and clicking Archive in the top right-hand corner. Note: This may affect related active custom track assignments.
Once the custom track is archived, it is no longer accessible to new learners. Members who are already enrolled in the track will be able to complete it and it will still be shown in the profile of those who have completed it. You can re-publish archived tracks by going to the Archived section of the custom tracks page, selecting a track, and clicking Publish toward the top of the screen.
Custom track reporting
For each track, admins will be able to see the total number of learners who have started the custom track and who have completed the custom track, as well as the completion rate. They will also be able to see a full list of all the learners who have started the track and when they started it. Admins can also see who completed it and when from this page. This information is available under the Enrollees tab.
Custom tracks will also appear in the summary file which can be downloaded from the Data Export page in the reporting section. For every learner, admins will be able to see how many tracks they completed and a list of those tracks.
Enterprise customers can also navigate to a learner’s profile from the member’s page or from the Progress reporting page by clicking on their email. The learner’s profile page will include all of their course and track completion certificates, including custom tracks. You will be able to see if the learner completed the custom track from here.
Learner experience with custom tracks
Finding custom tracks
The easiest place to find all the custom tracks you have access to is through the Learner Hub. In addition to appearing on the main page when the screen loads, there is also a dedicated section on the left-hand side where you can view and enroll in all custom tracks.